Posted by: Dr. Carolyn Edwards | September 10, 2012

Ask Dr. E – Breaking Bad News – You Didn’t Get the Job

Are you stressed, overwhelmed, undecided or need direction?

Get your life, career, business, relationship and most pressing questions answered. Let Dr. E help you get moving in the direction of your dreams.

 

Dr. E, I have a friend who is currently unemployed and that I recommended for a job at my company but management decided to go with another candidate. I asked the manager why she didn’t get the job and he said she had quite a few spelling errors and grammatical mistakes on her resume and writing sample. What’s the best way to break the bad news? Afraid to hurt my friend, PA.

Afraid, according to the Associated Press, unemployment is hovering around 8.3% so your friend is not alone in the unemployed category. This can be a cause of stress, anxiety and depression so tell her the truth with empathy and compassion. Treat your friend the way you would want to be treated. Not only tell her that she did not get the job but tell her why. Telling her why provides an opportunity to explain the areas in her application and interview that need more work, give her an opportunity to correct prior mistakes and do better next time.

 

Choose the right time and place to give your friend the news. Meeting face to face at a coffee-house or the library is beneficial because not only can you tell her the news, review her resume and interview feedback but provide her with resource like books, articles and how to manuals so she can address the deficiencies.

Listen. People express grief in many different ways so be prepared to lend an ear to let her share her feelings. Remain positive and tell her to use this situation as a learning lesson so next time the application materials are proofread and error free before submission and her interview skills are on point.

Good Luck,

Dr. E

 

**********************

Dr. Carolyn Edwards is a  life & career management coach, author and  professor.

Have a Question? Ask Dr. E! Here is how you can send questions:

Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/pages/Dr-Carolyn-Edwards/154950224574565

Blog – http://www.drcarolynedwards.wordpress.com

Email – dre@drcarolynedwards.com

Web – www.drcarolynedwards.com

Yahoo Group – TeachOnline10SimpleSteps

Twitter – @Dr_CEdwards

Mail – PO Box 570555, Cutler Bay FL 33257

______________________________________________________

There are many online job sites, resources, information, resume examples and advice from the pros in Teach Online 10 Simple Steps to Get Your Resume Noticed and Land the Job. Invest in your dreams!

Purchase Teach Online by Dr. Carolyn Edwards
ISBN-10: 145254915X

ISBN-13: 978-1452549156

                                                         Buy Now

 Balboapress.com Amazon -  BarnesandNoble.com

Responses

  1. This is a decent article, may father who was an adviser told me.
    . Your investing plan should include a list of reasons for investing.
    Figuring out why you want to invest, and what you are going to do with the money you earn can help you formulate
    the rest of your investment plan. It will also help you stay motivated to contribute to your investments.

  2. My good friend is a physician and always told me..
    . It is important to take baby steps when trying to lose weight.
    Losing weight is not an all-or-nothing situation.

    It is important to remember that you are trying to make life changes not instant changes.
    Starting small will give you the ability to learn how to
    fit the diet and weight loss regimen into your life.

  3. I do agree with all of the ideas you have introduced for
    your post. They’re very convincing and can certainly work. Nonetheless, the posts are very brief for novices. May just you please extend them a little from subsequent time? Thank you for the post.

    • The answers give you the baseline to get you started and on your way. Glad they are helpful and look for more to come. Take care, Dr. Carolyn

  4. Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! By the way, how could we
    communicate?

  5. Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using? I’m going to start my own blog
    soon but I’m having a tough time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  6. It is perfect time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.
    I have read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you few
    interesting things or suggestions. Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read even more things about it!

  7. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or weblog posts on this sort of area . Exploring in Yahoo I finally stumbled upon this website. Studying this information So i am satisfied to express that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny
    feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I such a lot definitely will make sure to don?
    t forget this site and give it a glance regularly.

  8. Don’t leave the group to go home or out alone with your date. If you site do not do check the criminal records out then you may have to personally check that out yourself so as to know criminal status of your new date. Well, the answer is you need to include photos of yourself out enjoying your passions.

  9. Your style is so unique in comparison to other people I’ve read stuff from. Thanks for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this page.

  10. If you are going for best contents like me, just pay a visit this web
    page everyday for the reason that it gives quality contents, thanks

  11. Wow, that’s what I was searching for, what a information! present here at this webpage, thanks admin of this web site.

  12. Hi! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing
    many months of hard work due to no backup. Do you have any
    solutions to protect against hackers?

    • My suggestion is to use excellent passwords and always keep backups of your posts. Create them in Word first, then copy and paste them to WordPress.

  13. After I originally commented I appear to have clicked on the -Notify
    me when new comments are added- checkbox and from now on
    every time a comment is added I recieve 4 emails with the
    same comment. There has to be a means you can remove me from that service?
    Cheers!

    • Not sure how to remove you from that option but I will check on that.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 430 other followers

